Honor your Word

By Diego B

 

I’m in a long distance relationship, and I like it.

No, it isn’t easy at all, but it will stay like this for the present semester; she will be back in January. And somehow we are making it work, that’s why our first decision was to break up officially. It doesn’t sound logical at all, right? Now I’m single but deeply in love with an amazing woman, and we still stay in touch but we don’t want to make the things between us to feel like an obligation. That’s boring.

It wasn’t nice at the very beginning, and I was a crazy when I went to the airport to say goodbye. I tried no to cry in front of her, but when she left I couldn’t talk.

Also, we are free: we are able to see someone else if we want to without cheating, or make out with anyone else. The deal is to tell each other if we do it because if we want to be together again we need to trust each other and there’s no way to predict how we will react, but we have a plan. Some say that life is what happens while we’re busy making plans.

As she’s in London we have a 6 hour time difference, so I text her when I go to sleep and then she replies. It’s nice to have messages in the morning from the person you love. But we are not talking 24/7. That’s boring too. We like to have our time and respect each other space. Therefore at the end of the week we have a lot of stories and nice things to talk about. I have to thank Apple for an awesome invention: Face Time.

What I like the most about being in the other side of the Atlantic Ocean is that I have the chance to continue flirting with her (without being awkward). I like to tell her how pretty she is, that she is one of the smartest people I have ever met (it’s true) and that she makes me happy. For me it keeps the relationship fresh while we are far away, it’s nice to receive funny voice notes and WhatsApp messages. Sometimes those little things make my day.

There’s a saying that goes: the Devil is in the details but maybe God and love are in the details too and maybe all it takes to make a relationship work is the little things no matter how far we are from each other.

 

3 thoughts on “Honor your Word

  1. theboycolton says:

    Thank you for this post Diego! My boyfriend is getting ready to move out to Taiwan to train with his King Fu teachers teacher which will make this a long distance relationship. I have never been in a long distance relationship and must admit, I am feeling quite nervous about the situation. Your post has helped ease my mind.

What do you reckon?